Upcoming Events

Leading with Story Online Workshop Series 

4-Part, 60-Minute Online Workshop Series, February 15, 22, 29 & March 7

When You Lead With Story, Growth and Change Follow…

This leadership workshop is designed to provide you with the tools to uncover your own unique set of values, vision, and purpose that are foundational to the creation of your leadership story.

Ideal for executives, mid-level management, senior-level job seekers, entrepreneurs, founders, coaches, and consultants alike, “Leading with Story” addresses how to effectively lead teams through growth and change as well as the art of upskilling while managing through uncertainty.

“The method is clearly presented, simple and effective. Jerome and Julienne were generous and encouraging facilitators, and I already feel the improvements in my daily life.”

– Leading with story 2023 workshop participant

Quick Course Overview Here

Keynote Address, May 13, 2024
THE WESTIN COPLEY PLACE, BOSTON, MA   

350+ technology sourcing innovators, decision-makers, and influencers are gathering in Boston to share insights, innovation, best practice and forge lasting connections.

THE WESTIN COPLEY PLACE, BOSTON, MA   

This 4.5 hour session was created by women for women. It is a seminar dedicated to addressing topics which are front of mind for women, right now. Participants will learn proven practices to elevate their own career while networking with peers to learn tips, tricks and lessons learned along the way. Speakers will share approaches to removing barriers and outline steps required to achieve whatever your goals.Be ready to be inspired, energized, and gain knowledge to strengthen both your personal and professional development – key ingredients to setting yourself up for success.

Women in Procurement

American author and entrepreneur Julienne B. Ryan brings her lived Queens experience to the table by writing with Markey Writing Academy.

Markey Writing Academy poster of Julienne Ryan
January 29 2024

“Tell Me Something I Don’t Know”
“Creating Connection & Community Through Story Sharing"

An Interactive, In-Person, Member Engagement Experience
Women In Media Member Workshop

This (90 or 120 minute) workshop will provide Women in Media Members, with a rare, luxury – another person’s undivided attention and focused listening!  This feat will be accomplished using inclusive humor and the Narativ Methodology©

The framework and activities that I use are designed to disrupt the member’s spoken and unspoken assumptions and related communications and provide them with an opportunity to connect with each other on a deeper and authentic level. 

The goal is to use one or two simple, every day, moments story prompts to craft mini stories.  Members will be guided on how to listen to and share these stories in dyads and small groups.  Then they’ll have to share one of the group stories in the larger setting. 

The process also takes into consideration different communication styles (introverts and extroverts) so everyone is able to feel comfortable and engaged.

Julienne Ryan headshot

The Learned-It-in Queens Communications Playbook

A WMG Lunch and Learn Event

Everyone is familiar with the phrase “do-over,” a time-honored request for a pause or a chance to try something again. Julienne B. Ryan, an author, public speaker, storytelling humorist, and proud native of Queens, New York, will use this concept to focus on how to improve workplace and inter-personal communications. Based on her humorous book, The Learned-It-In Queens Communication Playbook-Winning Against Digital Distraction, this lunch & learn program will address the things we do that get us into communication trouble and provide some simple practical things we can do to get out of our own way.

Julienne will reference communication challenges (a.k.a.“mistakes”) she faced as a former Human Resources professional and will use those stories to provide helpful tips for successful communication, with a heavy focus on how to engage in authentic communication when so much interaction is happening via screens. The key takeaway will be advice for effective listening and fostering of better relationships with work colleagues and other networks in one’s life.

A WMG Lunch and Learn Event
November & December 2023

Private On-Line and Public Corporate and Association Events that focus on team building, communication and innovation.

 

Julienne B Ryan headshot
February - March 2024

Leading with Story: 4-Part Workshop Series

This is an online workshop with three one-hour sessions on This is an online workshop with three one-hours February 15, 22, 29 & March 7  from 9am PT / 12pm ET / 5pm UK / 6pm CET to 10am PT / 1pm ET / 6pm UK / 7pm CET. 

Uncover your unique set of values, vision and purpose to create a high-impact leadership story.

Ideal for executives, mid-level management and senior-level job seekers alike, “Leading with Story” addresses how to effectively lead teams through growth and change as well as the art of upskilling while facing an uncertain market.

The interactive format of the workshop provides experiential learning that will deepen communication skills and develop a listen-first mindset.

Through a weekly series of 3 virtual classes rooted in Narativ’s proprietary storytelling method, you will learn how to:

  • Create and deliver a story that sticks—about who you are and what you do.
  • Clarify the “why?” behind your story and the “why now?” to capture the urgency.
  • Use sensory detail to generate powerful emotional resonance for your listeners.
  • Mine your experiences for great material.
  • Streamline your thoughts and shape your story arc and more

Indie Author Day - Queens Central Library

Join us in person at Central Library (89-11 Merrick Boulevard in Jamaica) to celebrate indie authors who, with passion and integrity, bring together our local creative writing and reading communities.
You can chat with our guests about their writing, browse their books, and much more! 
Our special guest authors will include:
Susan Awe-Odigie, a 20-year nurse, cancer survivor, and the author of “Beating Breast Cancer with an Attitude”
Beverly A. Burchett, winner of the 2020 New York Indie Author Project and the author of “Adventures of a Thought Thief”
Valerie Devone-Grimes, author of the children’s books “The Big Catch of the Day” and “Dad & Me (Believe in Yourself)”
William J. McGee, the former Editor-in-Chief of Consumer Reports Travel Letter, an air travel consumer advocate, and the author of “Half the Child
 
 
Indie Author Day at the Queens Central Library